The IMF (International Monetary Fund) is an international organization centered in Washington D.C. and founded in 1944 at the Bretton Woods Conference along with the World Bank to secure the worldwide financial stability, foster global monetary cooperation and facilitate international trade.  

The current Managing Director (MD) and Chairwoman of the International Monetary Fund is the noted French lawyer and former politician, Christine Lagarde, who has held the post since 5 July 2011.

There are currently 189 member states in the IMF. Former members are Cuba (which left in 1964),and the Republic of China (Taiwan), which was ejected from the UN in 1980 after losing the support of then United States President Jimmy Carter and was replaced by the People's Republic of China. However, "Taiwan Province of China" is still listed in the official IMF indices.

Chairs in this Committee

If you wish to apply for a chairing position, please go to the "registration" tab.